Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 9

Episode 9 of 15

Elizabeth Jane Howard's family saga, dramatised by Lin Coghlan. Miss Milliment moves to Home Place to teach the girls, but worries what will become of her when they are grown.

by Elizabeth Jane Howard
dramatised by Lin Coghlan

Miss Milliment moves permanently to Home Place to teach the girls but worries what will become of her when they are grown.

Marking Time is the second of four compelling Cazalet novels by Elizabeth Jane Howard, which together give a vivid insight into the lives, hopes and loves of three generations.
As Elizabeth Jane Howard enters her 90th Birthday year, Radio 4 are broadcasting dramatisations of all four novels between January and August 2013.

In the second series, the families' worst fears are realised as war breaks out. Rupert immediately decides he must join up, Edward will see what military work he can get, whilst Hugh - still suffering from injuries from the first war - has to settle with running the family firm. But it is the children who become the centre of the story, as Louise realises that her parents' marriage is not as happy as she had imagined, Clary is faced with the prospect of losing her beloved father and Polly must deal with her fear of war and a battle much closer to home. If only the adults would realise that they are not really children - but they seem stuck in some awful place where they must simply mark time.

15 minutes

Last on

Thu 28 Feb 2013 19:45


Role Contributor
Narrator Penelope Wilton
Miss Milliment Carol MacReady
Rachel Naomi Frederick
Sid Helen Schlesinger
Archie Joseph Millson
Clary Georgia Groome
Guard Paul Stonehouse
Writer Lin Coghlan


  • Thu 28 Feb 2013 10:45
  • Thu 28 Feb 2013 19:45

Meet the family

Meet the family

Find out more about the main characters in Radio 4's dramatisation of the Cazalet saga.