Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

LSO - Sibelius, Beethoven, Turnage

Live from Barbican Hall, London

Presented by Martin Handley

Daniel Harding conducts the LSO in Sibelius and a world premiere by Turnage. They are joined by Lars Vogt for Beethoven's Third Piano Concerto

Sibelius: Oceanides
Beethoven: Piano Concerto no.3 in C minor, Op.37

8.15: Interval

Mark-Anthony Turnage: Speranza (world premiere)

Lars Vogt (piano)
London Symphony Orchestra
Daniel Harding (conductor)

Mark-Anthony Turnage's Speranza ('Hope'), commissioned by the LSO and tonight receiving its first performance, is a monument to the power of optimism in a bleak world - 'I started working on the piece while thinking about the absence of hope. I wanted to lift people up.'
Beethoven's Third Piano Concerto offers the composer's trademark thundering drama juxtaposed with sweet grace.
While Sibelius's Tapiola spoke of forest gods, his tone poem Oceanides breathes life into the female water spirits of Greek mythology.

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Thu 7 Feb 2013 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.