Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Episode 1

Penny Gore explores some recent concert performances by the Cleveland Orchestra.
Founded in 1918 and often referred to as one of America's 'Big Five,' the Cleveland Orchestra is justly famed for its 'European sound.' This characteristically warm yet incisive sound, honed by the Hungarian-born George Szell during his legendary twenty four year reign as the orchestra's Music Director from 1946, was largely maintained by his successors, Lorin Maazel (1972-82) and Christoph von Dohnányi (1984-2002). Franz Welser-Möst, the orchestra's current Music Director, has retained the fabled warm sound yet over the past decade he has expanded both the repertoire and the stylistic flexibility of his orchestra in music ranging from Bach to the contemporary. The recordings heard this week were all made in the past season at the Cleveland Orchestra's Severance Hall home. This imposing edifice was purpose built in 1931, and now newly refurbished, it is considered to be one of the most beautiful concert halls in the world.

Schumann: Symphony No. 4 in D minor, op. 120
Cleveland Orchestra, Franz Welser-Möst (conductor)

c. 2.45pm
J.S. Bach: Mass in F, BWV 233
Laura Claycomb (soprano)
Kelley O'Connor (mezzo-soprano)
Andrew Foster-Williams (bass-baritone)
Cleveland Orchestra, Cleveland Orchestra Chamber Choir, Franz Welser-Möst (conductor)

c. 3.15pm
Debussy: Prélude à l'aprés-midi d'un faune
Cleveland Orchestra, Franz Welser-Möst (conductor)
Mozart: Horn Concerto No. 2 in E flat, K. 417
Richard King (horn), Cleveland Orchestra, Christoph von Dohanyi (conductor)

c. 3.40
Richard Strauss: Ein Heldenleben, op. 40
Cleveland Orchestra, Franz Welser-Möst (conductor).

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Mon 4 Feb 2013 14:00