Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

New Music from Japan

Total Immersion: Sounds from Japan. Orchestral music from Japan performed by the BBC SO and the Guildhall Chamber Ensemble. Includes Akira Nishimura, Misato Mochizuki and Jo Kondo.

Robert Worby introduces a programme of new music from Japan, highlights from the BBC Symphony Orchestra's event Total Immersion: Sounds from Japan, which took place in London at the Barbican Centre and LSO St Luke's earlier in the day. He's joined by the composer Dai Fujikura whose work Atom receives its UK premiere.

Akira Nishimura: Bird Heterophony (UK Premiere)
Misato Mochizuki: Musubi (UK Premiere)
Toru Takemitsu: November Steps (UK Premiere)
Kifu Mitsuhashi (shakuhachi); Kumiko Shuto (biwa)
BBC Symphony Orchestra conducted by Kazushi Ono

Jo Kondo: Surface, Depth and Colour (UK Premiere)
Guildhall Chamber Ensemble conducted by Sian Edwards

Dai Fujikura: Atom (European Premiere)
Toshio Hosokawa: Woven Dreams (UK Premiere)
BBC Symphony Orchestra conducted by Kazushi Ono.

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Sat 2 Feb 2013 22:00


Sound of the Week

Sound of the Week

Composers reveal the sounds that have captured their imaginations and inspired new music.

Stockhausen’s Gruppen – What’s the Big Deal?

Stockhausen’s Gruppen – What’s the Big Deal?

A user-friendly guide to a masterpiece of music’s post-War avant-garde.

Pioneering Sound

Pioneering Sound

Listen to Radio 3 broadcasts which break technological boundaries in sound.