Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Robert Ellis in session

Join Bob for his personal selection of the best in country and roots music, with singer-songwriter Robert Ellis in session from Nashville.

Joining Bob tonight, in a session recorded in Nashville, is singer/songwriter Robert Ellis whose debut album, Photographs, has drawn comparisons with the late great Gram Parsons.

Writing about him last year, The Guardian newspaper said of the Houston native: "Robert Ellis is a hippie throwback but he also moves between periods and worlds with aplomb - at a recent party...he and his band, according to one onlooker, 'deconstructed old bluegrass songs and borrowed as much from Radiohead as George Jones'".

Robert makes his UK live debut supporting Richard Thompson on a nationwide tour later in February.

57 minutes

Last on

Thu 31 Jan 2013 19:00


Music Played

Add music you love and enjoy it with My Tracks
  • Dale Watson

    Johnny At The Door

    • The Sun Sessions.
    • Continental Song City.
    • CSCCD 1076.
  • Steve Earle

    The Low Highway

    • The Low Highway.
    • New West.
    • NWA3064.
  • Chris Knight

    In the Meantime

    • Little Victories.
    • 0013.
  • Rosanne Cash

    Seventh Avenue

    • The Wheel.
    • Columbia.
    • CK52729.
  • Robert Ellis Nashville Session

  • Robert Ellis

    Comin' Home

    • Photographs.
    • New West.
    • NW6202.
  • Old Crow Medicine Show

    Carry Me Back to Virginia

    • Carry Me Back.
    • ATO Records.
    • At00156.
  • Bill Monroe

    Dog House Blues

    • Bill Monroe - RCA Country Legends.
    • RCA.
    • 07863 65120-2.
  • Petunia & The Vipers

    The Cricket Song

    • Petunia & The Vipers.
    • Trapline.
    • TRPCD00103.
  • Whiskeytown

    16 Days

    • Strangers Almanac.
    • Geffen.
    • 0602517398603.


Radio 2 Country Playlist

Bob Harris introduces a selection of the hottest Country songs of the week

Discover more Country Music on BBC

New to Country Music? Listen to a selection of specially selected tracks to get started