Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Deborah Colker, Chris Watson, Gay's the Word

Sean Rafferty talks to choreographer Deborah Colker and soundscape artist Chris Watson. In The Story of Music in 50 Pieces, Howard Goodall and Suzy Klein discusse In dulci jubilo.

Sean Rafferty presents, with guests including sensational Brazilian choreographer Deborah Colker, as she brings her dance company to London's Barbican.

There's live music from the cast of 'Gay's the Word' the new production of Ivor Novello's last musical opening shortly in London.

Plus soundscape artist Chris Watson talks about his unique part in the 2013 Britten 100th anniversary celebrations recreating Britten's walks around Suffolk and the composer's fascination with the nightingale.

Also today, the second of a new series at 5.30pm every day - The Story of Music in 50 pieces. Composer Howard Goodall, in conversation with Suzy Klein, explores his personal choice of 50 compositions that changed the course of music history. The Story of Music continues in Essential Classics weekdays at 11am, and each instalment is available as a download.
Today: the traditional hymn melody In dulci jubilo

Main headlines are at 5pm and 6pm.

1 hour, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Robert Schumann

    Phantasiestucke Op.12 for piano vers. standard [8 pieces]

    Performer: Imogen Cooper

    • Chandos.
    • CHAN10755.
  • LIVE

    • Ivor Novello

      It's Bound To Be Right On The Night

      Performer: Ross Leadbetter Performer: Sophie-Louise Dann

    • Ivor Novello

      Finder Please Return

      Performer: Helena Blackman Performer: Ross Leadbetter

  • Ottorino Respighi

    Fontane di Roma - symphonic poem

    Conductor: Edo de Waart Performer: San Francisco S O

  • Johannes Brahms

    8 Zigeunerlieder Op.103, arr. for voice and piano [orig. for 4 voices and piano]

    Performer: Christine Rice Performer: Roger Vignoles

    • EMI.
    • 3-30466 2.
  • Sergei Prokofiev

    Symphony no. 1 in D major Op.25 (Classical)

    Conductor: Seiji Ozawa Performer: Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra

    • DG.
    • 435026-2.
  • Berna Ceppas


    Performer: Berna Ceppas

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Concerto no. 1 in B flat major K.207 for violin and orchestra

    Performer: Viktoria Mullova Performer: Orchestra of The Age of Enlightenment

    • PHILIPS.
    • 470292-2.
  • The Story of Music - episode 4

  • Michael Praetorius

    In dulci jubilo - motet [based on trad. melody; 1619 no.34]

    Performer: Voces8

    • SIGNUM.
    • SIGCD291.
  • Benjamin Britten

    Winter words Op.52

    Performer: Benjamin Britten Performer: Peter Pears

    • DECCA.
    • 425996-2.
  • George Frideric Handel

    Trio sonata in G minor Op.2`6 [HG Op.2`7]

    Conductor: Richard Egarr Performer: Academy of Ancient Music

    • HMU-907467/68.
  • Peter Philips

    Caecilia virgo for choir and organ

    Conductor: Rupert Gough Performer: Royal Holloway Choir, University of London

    • Hyperion.
    • CDA 67945.


Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

30 minutes of uninterrupted music - on air every weekday at 7pm and online at any time.

In Tune Sessions

In Tune Sessions

Watch live performances recorded at the In Tune studios