Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

The BBC Symphony Orchestra's concert under Andrew Litton concludes with a performance of Elgar's monumental Symphony No 1 in A flat.

Live from the Barbican Hall, London

Benjamin Grosvenor and the BBC SO play Britten's Piano Concerto, Elgar's First Symphony & a new work by Anna Clyne.

Anna Clyne: Night Ferry UK Premiere
Britten: Piano Concerto
Elgar: Symphony No. 1 in A flat major

Benjamin Grosvenor, piano
Andrew Litton, conductor

Two leading lights in a new generation of British artists grace this evening: Benjamin Grosvenor, the youngest soloist ever to open the Proms in 2011, performs Britten's brilliant, youthful piano concerto, while composer Anna Clyne, whose dazzlingly inventive rewind was such a hit for the BBC SO, returns with a major new work commissioned by the Chicago SO, Night Ferry. The Transatlantic theme continues when well-loved American champion of British music, Andrew Litton takes on Elgar's monumental First Symphony. Widely hailed as 'the first great English symphony', this rich and poetic work is a complex weave of nobility, aching sadness and, in the composer's words.

1 hour

Last on

Fri 11 Jan 2013 21:00

Music Played

  • BBC SO Barbican 11/01/2013 @ 19.30

    • Edward Elgar

      Symphony no. 1 in A flat major Op.55

      Conductor: Andrew Litton Performer: BBC S O.


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.