Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Clara Mouriz, Nicolas Altstaedt and Igor Levit

Presented by Clemency Burton-Hill. With Clara Mouriz (mezzo) in music by Schubert, Nicolas Altstaedt (cello) in Beethoven and Schubert, and Igor Levit (piano) in Beethoven.

In the last programme of this series showcasing the talents of Radio 3's starry line-up of New Generation Artists, Clemency Burton-Hill introduces recordings by the Spanish mezzo-soprano Clara Mouriz, the German cellist Nicolas Altstaedt, and the German-Russian pianist Igor Levit.

Schubert: Gretchen am Spinnrade, D118
Clara Mouriz (mezzo-soprano), Joseph Middleton (piano)

Beethoven: Cello Sonata in D, Op 102 No 2
Nicolas Altstaedt (cello), Jose Gallardo (piano)

Schubert: Der Zwerg, D771; Der Tod und das Madchen, D531; Nacht und Traume, D827
Clara Mouriz (mezzo-soprano), Joseph Middleton (piano)

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No 3 in C minor, Op 37
Igor Levit (piano), BBC Symphony Orchestra, conductor Jiri Belohlavek.

Liszt: Invocation
Igor Levit (piano)

To see video performances of the artists click on 'Clips' above, you can also find out about all the New Generation Artists at 'Artists A-Z'.

1 hour, 23 minutes

Music Played

  • Franz Schubert

    Gretchen am Spinnrade

  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Cello sonata no. 5

  • Franz Schubert

    Der Zwerg

  • Franz Schubert

    Der Tod und das Madchen

  • Franz Schubert

    Nacht und Traume

  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Piano Concerto no. 3 in c minor

  • Franz Liszt

    Invocation no. 1


Find out more about the New Generation Artists scheme

Find out more about the New Generation Artists scheme

Bringing young musicians on the threshold of international stardom to the world.