Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

New Generation Artists

With Clara Mouriz (mezzo) in music by Rodrigo, Nicolas Altstaedt (cello) in Fazil Say and Shostakovich, Sean Shibe (guitar) in Albeniz, and Elena Urioste (violin) in Ravel.

Clemency Burton-Hill introduces recordings by Radio 3's starry line-up of New Generation Artists. Today, a chance to hear from Spanish mezzo-soprano Clara Mouriz, German cellist Nicolas Altstaedt, and two newcomers to the NGA scheme: Scottish guitarist Sean Shibe, and New York-based violinist Elena Urioste.

Rodrigo: Pastorcito Santo; Coplillas de Belen
Clara Mouriz (mezzo-soprano), Joseph Middleton (piano)

Fazil Say: 4 Cities
Nicolas Altstaedt (cello), Fazil Say (piano)

Albeniz: Sevilla; Catalunya
Sean Shibe (guitar)

Ravel: Sonata for violin and piano, Op posth
Elena Urioste (violin), Michael Brown (piano)

Catalan trad: Cant des ocells
Basque trad: Aurtxo polita
Clara Mouriz (mezzo-soprano). Joseph Middleton (piano)

Shostakovich: Cello Sonata in D minor, Op 40
Nicolas Altstaedt (cello), Fazil Say (piano).

To see video performances of the artists click on 'Clips' above, you can also find out about all the New Generation Artists at 'Artists A-Z'

1 hour, 28 minutes

Music Played

  • Joaquín Rodrigo

    Pastorcito Santo

  • Joaquín Rodrigo

    Coplillas de Belen

  • Fazil Say

    Four Cities

  • Isaac Albéniz


  • Isaac Albéniz


  • Maurice Ravel - Sonata for violin and piano (op. posth)

  • Anon.

    Catalan - Cant des ocells

  • Anonymous

    Anonymous - Basque - Aurtxo polita

  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    Cello Sonata


Find out more about the New Generation Artists scheme

Find out more about the New Generation Artists scheme

Bringing young musicians on the threshold of international stardom to the world.