Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available


James Jolly's selection of music looks forward to the new year, but also takes stock of the year just passed, with Bach's cantata no 28, Gottlob! nun geht das Jahr zu Ende (Praise God! The year now draws to a close).

2 hours, 57 minutes

Last on

Sun 30 Dec 2012 09:00

Music Played

  • Malcolm Arnold

    A Sussex Overture

    Performers: LPO + Malcolm Arnold (conductor)

    • Reference Recordings.
    • RR48.
  • Edvard Grieg

    Lyric Pieces – Butterfly

    Performer: Emil Gilels (piano)

    • DG.
    • 449 7212.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Cantata No 28, 'Gottlob! Nun geht das Jahr zu ende'

    Performer: Munich Bach Choir and Orchestra + Karl Richter (conductor)

    • Arkiv Produktion.
    • 439 371-2.
  • Edvard Grieg

    Lyric Pieces – Remembrances

    Performer: Emil Gilels (pf)

    • DG.
    • 449 7212.
  • John Rutter

    When icicles hang

    Performers: Cambridge Singers; City of London Sinfonia + John Rutter

    • Collegium.
    • CSCD516.
  • John Dowland

    Come again: sweete love doth now invite

    Performers: Barbara Bonney (sop) Jacob Heringman (lute)

    • Decca.
    • 468 816-2.
  • Gabriel Pierné

    Variations libres et finale

    Performers: Mirage Quintet

    • Naxos.
    • 8570444.
  • George Lloyd

    Psalm 130

    Performers: Exon Singers + Matthew Owens (conductor)

    • Albany.
    • TROY450.
  • Graham Fitkin

    Piano Piece '90

    Performer: Shelagh Sutherland

    • Factory.
    • FACD 346.
  • Jerome Moross

    Sonata - Scherzo

    Performers: London Symphony Orchestra + JoAnn Faletta (cond)

    • Koch International.
    • 7604.
  • Charles-Valentin Alkan

    Super flumina Babylonis, Op 52

    Perfomer: Marc-André Hamelin (pf)

    • Hyperion.
    • CDA67218.
  • Morton Gould

    Latin-American Symphonette

    Performers: Morton Gould Orchestra + Morton Gould (cond)

    • RCA.
    • 61505.
  • Pietro Mascagni

    Cavalleria Rusticana – Easter Hymn (Inneggiamo)

    Performers: Fiorenza Cossotto (mez) Chorus and Orchestra of La Scala, Milan + Herbert von Karajan (conductor)

    • Deutsche Grammophon.
    • 419 257-2.
    • 11.


Folk on Sunday Morning – Sarah Walker introduces five outstanding tracks

Folk on Sunday Morning – Sarah Walker introduces five outstanding tracks

In Folk, Sarah Walker finds distinctive voices and a bridge twixt tradition and modernity

Ten reasons to love nostalgic music

Ten reasons to love nostalgic music

Sarah Walker introduces her light music choices – a weekly treat on Sunday Morning.

Ten Steps in to Jazz

Ten Steps in to Jazz

Sarah Walker invites you on the personal jazz journey she shares in Sunday Morning on R3.