Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Friday - Petroc Trelawny

Petroc Trelawny presents Radio 3's classical breakfast show, featuring festive music and surprise features.

Petroc Trelawny presents Radio 3's classical breakfast show. As December progresses, plenty of festival music and surprises.

From 15th December, the BBC Singers will be specially recording carols - some of them requested by our listeners.

There's the Breakfast Advent Calendar - opening a door every day to reveal winter music and readings chosen by listeners and presenters.

Closer to Christmas, listeners will have the chance to send a Breakfast Christmas Card by requesting a piece of music and dedicating it to a friend.

And in Your Call where we hear from our audience about their favourite pieces of music, there's the chance to introduce a favourite piece of music to the rest of the UK. In the run up to Christmas we'll be hearing about music that reminds listeners of the festive season.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Georg Philipp Telemann

    Overture Burlesque: Orchestral Suite in B Flat

    Performer: Collegium Musicum 90 Performer: Simon Standage (violin/director)

    • CHANDOS CHAN 0512.
  • Jules Massenet


    Performer: Aldo Ciccolini (piano)

    • EMI CDM 764277 2.
  • Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Nutcracker – Pas de Deux

    Performer: Kirov Orchestra Performer: Valery Gergiev (conductor)

    • PHILIPS 462 114-2.
  • Franz Xaver Gruber

    Silent Night (arranged Bowers-Broadbent)

    Performer: Westminster Abbey Choristers Performer: James O’Donnell (conductor)

    • HYPERION CDA67716.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Adagio for Violin and Orchestra in E K261

    Performer: Julia Fischer (violin) Performer: Netherlands Chamber Orchestra Performer: Yakov Kreizburg (conductor)

    • PENTATONE PTC 5186 064.
  • John Gardner

    Tomorrow Shall be My Dancing Day

    Performer: Westminster Abbey Choir Performer: Christopher Herrick (organ) Performer: Simon Preston (conductor)

    • DG 413 5902.
  • Camille Saint‐Saëns

    Piano Concerto No.2 in G Minor – Presto (last movement)

    Performer: Stephen Hough (piano) Performer: City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra Performer: Sakari Oramo (conductor)

    • HYPERION CDA67331/2.
  • John Blow

    Chacony in G

    Performer: Musica Antiqua Köln Performer: Reinhard Goebel (director)

    • ARCHIV 453 4182.
  • Jean Sibelius

    Karelia Suite – Alla Marcia

    Performer: Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra Performer: Jukka Pekka Saraste (conductor)

    • RCA RD 87765.
  • Philip Ledger

    A little child there is yborn (from This Holy Child)

    Performer: BBC Singers Performer: Gavin Roberts [organ] Performer: Paul Brough [conductor]

    • BBC Singers recorded in Maida Vale Studio 1.
    • 41244.
  • Charles‐François Gounod

    Petite Symphonie in B Flat Major for wind: first movement – Adagio and Allegretto

    Performer: Athena Ensemble

    • CHANDOS CHAN 6543.
  • Sergei Prokofiev

    Lieutenant Kije – Troika

    Performer: Chicago Symphony Orchestra Performer: Claudio Abbado (conductor)

    • DG 419 603-2.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Nun komm der heiden Heiland (Busoni)

    Performer: Alfred Brendel (piano)

    • DECCA 4782116.
  • Joseph Haydn

    Cello Concerto in C H.ViiB:1 – first movement

    Performer: Steven Isserlis (cello) Performer: The Chamber Orchestra of Europe Performer: Sir Roger Norrington (conductor)

    • RCA 09026 685782.
  • Trad.

    O Come, O Come, Emmanuel (arranged Andrew Carter)

    Performer: The Choir of St Paul’s Cathedral Performer: Andrew Lucas (organ) Performer: John Scott (conductor)

    • HELIOS CDH55463.
  • Richard Wagner

    The Ride of the Valkyries

    Performer: Orchestre de Paris Performer: Daniel Barenboim (conductor)

    • DG 423 8962.
  • Emmanuel Chabrier

    10 Pièces pittoresques – Menuet Pompeux

    Performer: Angela Hewitt (piano)

    • HYPERION CDA 671515.
  • Frederick Delius

    Sleigh Ride

    Performer: Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra Performer: David Hill (conductor)

    • LONDON 444 1302.
  • Bob Chilcott

    The Shepherd's Carol

    Performer: BBC Singers Performer: Paul Brough [conductor]

    • BBC Singers recorded in Maida Vale Studio 1.
    • 41244.
  • Antonio Vivaldi

    Concerto for Strings in G Minor RV157 first movement

    Performer: Harmonie Universelle

    • ACCENT ACC 2426.
  • Le Sieur de Machy

    Suite VIII in A Major – Gigue

    Performer: Paolo Pandolfo (viola da gamba)

    • GLOSSA GCD 920413 121.
  • Edward Elgar

    The Snow Op.26 No.1

    Performer: Choristers of Worcester Cathedral Performer: Jeremy Ballard, Robin Thurlby (violins) Performer: Keith Swallow (piano) Performer: Donald Hunt (conductor)

    • HYPERION CDA66271/2.
  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Symphony No.5 in C Minor Op.67 first movement

    Performer: Vienna Philharmonic Performer: Carlos Kleiber (conductor)

    • DG 447 4002.
  • Anon.

    There is no Rose

    Performer: Voces 8

  • Jules Grison

    Toccata for Organ in F

    Performer: Jane Parker Smith (organ – of Salisbury Cathedral)

    • EMI 5 753562.


Carol Competition 2019

Carol Competition 2019

Here's everything you need to know about our competition for amateur composers.

Five simple steps for morning mindfulness

Five simple steps for morning mindfulness

How listening to R3 Breakfast can reduce stress, aid mindfulness and cure morning breath.

Wake up your brain cells with our morning music quiz

Wake up your brain cells with our morning music quiz

How many of these rousing music questions can you answer?

Sounds of the Earth

Sounds of the Earth

In this Weekend Breakfast feature, we hear the natural world in its many guises.

Chilled – five great Russian winter pieces you’ve mostly never heard of …

Chilled –  five great Russian winter pieces you’ve mostly never heard of …

The BBC's Steve Rosenberg (a handy pianist) chips the ice off favourite classical scores.

Get singing: The Pankhurst Anthem

Get singing: The Pankhurst Anthem

We're inviting singers to mark 100 years of UK women's suffrage with a new choral work.