Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

John Sessions with music that is popular today, yet badly reviewed originally. Rachmaninov: Symphony No 1, Elgar: Cello Concerto, Bizet: Carmen and Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring.

In the second of two programmes, John Sessions presents a selection of music that is much-loved today, but at the time received terrible reviews, or had disastrous premieres. John recounts some of the most colourful reviews of works such as Rachmaninov's First Symphony, Elgar's Cello Concerto, Bizet's Carmen and Stravinsky's the Rite of Spring.

2 hours

Last on

Sat 24 Nov 2012 15:00

Music Played

  • Hector Berlioz

    Le Carnaval romain - overture Op.9

    Conductor: Colin DAVIS Performer: London Symphony Orchestra

    • PHILIPS 416 430-2.
  • Modest Mussorgsky

    A Night on the bare mountain, ed. Rimsky-Korsakov

    Conductor: Eduardo MATA Performer: Dallas Opera Orchestra

    • RCA VD-87727.
  • Edward Elgar

    Concerto in E minor Op.85 for cello and orchestra - 4th movement; Allegro

    Conductor: Andre PREVIN Performer: Yo Yo MA - Cello Performer: London Symphony Orchestra

  • Sergey Rachmaninov

    Symphony no. 1 in D minor Op.13 - 1st movement; Grave - allegro ma non troppo

    Conductor: Vladimir ASHKENAZY Performer: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

    • DECCA 411-657-2.
  • Igor Stravinsky

    The Rite of Spring - Part 1 (Adoration of the Earth)

    Conductor: Valery GERGIEV Performer: Kirov Orchestra

    • PHILIPS 468-035-2.
  • Johannes Brahms

    Sonata no. 2 in F major Op.99 for cello and piano - 1st movement; Allegro vivace

    Performer: Stephen HOUGH - Piano Performer: Steven ISSERLIS - Cello

    • HYPERION CDA-67529.
  • Georges Bizet

    Carmen - suite - i. Prelude (Prelude to Act 1); iii. Aragonaise (Entr'acte, Act 4); iv. L

    Conductor: Myung-Whun CHUNG Performer: Bastille Orchestra

    • DEUTSCHE GRAMMOPHON 431-778-2.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Le Nozze di Figaro - opera in 4 acts K.492 - Act 4, no.29; Pace, pace

    Conductor: Georg SOLTI Performer: Frederica von STADE - Mezzo-soprano Performer: Kiri TE KANAWA - Soprano Performer: Kurt MOLL - Bass Performer: Lucia POPP - Soprano Performer: Samuel RAMEY - Bass Performer: Thomas ALLEN - Baritone Performer: London Philharmonic Orchestra

    • DECCA 417-395 2.
  • George Gershwin

    An American in Paris vers. for orchestra

    Conductor: Seiji OZAWA Performer: San Francisco Symphony Orchestra

    • DEUTSCHE GRAMMOPHON 419 625-2.