Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Concert in which Vasily Petrenko conducts the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. Sibelius: Karelia Suite. Arutyunyan: Trumpet Concerto (soloist: Tine Thing Helseth).

Live from Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Presented by Simon Hoban

The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Vasily Petrenko, performs Sibelius's Karelia Suite, Alexander Arutyunyan's Trumpet Concerto with soloist Tine Thing Helseth and Mahler's 1st Symphony.

Sibelius: Karelia Suite
Arutyunyan: Trumpet Concerto

Tine Thing Helseth (trumpet)
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko (conductor)

Conducted by Vasily Petrenko, the RLPO perform a programme which contrasts the nationalistic folk sounds of Sibelius's Karelia Suite with Gustav Mahler's powerful first symphony. The orchestra is also joined by acclaimed trumpeter Tine Thing Helseth for Alexander Arutyunyan's exciting Trumpet Concerto which has its own echoes of Armenian gypsy music.

50 minutes

Last on

Wed 7 Nov 2012 19:30

Music Played

  • Gustav Mahler

    Symphony no 1: 1st movement


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.