Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in Stravinsky: Symphony of Psalms and Strauss: An Alpine Symphony. Netherlands Radio Philharmonic in Gershwin: An American in Paris.

Louise Fryer celebrates Dutch Orchestras and ensembles with a series of concerts given at the Concertgebouw and in Utrecht. The Royal Concertgebouw perform Stravinsky's Symphony of Psalms, written for the Boston Symphony Orchestra in 1930, and America is also the theme for the Netherlands Radio Philharmonic Orchestra in music by Gershwin and Bernstein. Plus Mozart's Kegelstatt Trio from the Utrecht International Chamber Music Festival, and Bernard Haitink conducts the Royal Concertgebouw in Strauss's mighty Alpine Symphony.

Stravinsky: Symphony of Psalms
Netherlands Radio Chorus
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Mariss Jansons (conductor)

Gershwin: An American in Paris
Bernstein: Divertimento
Netherlands Radio Philharmonic Orchestra
Antony Hermus (conductor)

Mozart: Piano Trio no.2 in E flat, K.498, 'Kegelstatt'
Martin Fröst (clarinet)
Maxim Rysanov (viola)
Roland Pöntinen (piano)

Strauss: An Alpine Symphony, Op.64
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Bernard Haitink (conductor)

Handel: Excerpts from Ariodante
Alisa Kosova (mezzo-soprano)
Combattimento Consort Amsterdam
Jan Willem de Vriend (conductor).

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Mon 5 Nov 2012 14:00

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Afternoon Concert

Music Played

  • Igor Stravinsky

    Symphony of Psalms

  • George Gershwin

    An American in Paris

  • Leonard Bernstein


  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Piano Trio no.2 in E flat, K.948, 'Kegelstatt'

  • Richard Strauss

    An Alpine Symphony

  • George Frideric Handel

    Ariodante - excerpts