Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

From the Courtyard, Hereford, the conclusion of a concert by guitar duo Katona Twins and the City of London Sinfonia. Falla: El amor brujo Suite. Tchaikovsky: Serenade for Strings.

Live from The Courtyard, Hereford

Presented by Catherine Bott

Guitar duo the Katona Twins and the City of London Sinfonia perform works by Mozart, Piazzolla, Falla and Tchaikovsky.

Falla: El Amor Brujo Suite
Tchaikovsky: Serenade for Strings

Katona Twins (guitar duo)
City of London Sinfonia
Director, Alexandra Wood (violin)

The acclaimed guitar duo, the Katona Twins, join the City of London for an evening of orchestral fireworks from around the World. Hommage a Liege, by the Argentinian composer, Astor Piazzolla, is a concerto for the unusual combination of guitar, bandoneon and orchestra, whilst in the second half of tonight's concert, Manuel de Falla's suite from his ballet El Amor Brujo - full of Spanish passion and fire - is contrasted with Tchaikovsky's stately Serenade for Strings.

1 hour, 40 minutes

Last on

Tue 9 Oct 2012 20:20

Music Played

  • Steve Reich

    6 Pianos


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.