Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Friday - Rob Cowan

With Rob Cowan. Including Essential CD of the Week: Sergei Nakariakov: Trumpet and Piano; Physicist Brian Foster; Rob's Essential Choice: Beethoven: Symphony No 2.

A selection of music including the Essential CD of the Week: Sergei Nakariakov: Trumpet and Piano TELDEC 2564 67209-2

A daily brainteaser, and Rob's recommended performance by the next pianist in Peter Donohoe's survey of 50 Great Pianists.

In World Space Week, Rob Cowan's guest on Essential Classics is the distinguished British physicist Professor Brian Foster OBE, who is currently European Director of the Global Design Effort for the International Linear Collider at CERN in Switzerland. He graduated from the University of Oxford with a D.Phil in particle physics, became successively a lecturer, then Reader and finally Professor in Experimental Physics at the University of Bristol, and then held the equivalent position at Oxford University from 2003. He is currently Head of the Department of Particle Physics at Oxford. He was awarded the Alexander von Humboldt Research Prize in 1999 and the Max Born Medal and Prize in 2003.
Music is a consuming passion for Brian Foster. He is an enthusiastic amateur violinist, and has collaborated with the young professional violinist Jack Liebeck on the Superstrings project, a lecture which links Einstein's favourite instrument, the violin, with many of the concepts of modern physics, showing how Einstein's ideas have shaped our concepts of space, time, and the evolution of the Universe.

Rob's Essential Choice
Beethoven: Symphony No.2 in D major, Op.36
Boston Symphony Orchestra
Erich Leinsdorf (conductor)
RCA VD60130.

3 hours

Music Played

  • Halvorsen

    Cotillon (Mascarade Suite)

    Performers: Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Neeme Järvi (conductor)

    • CHANDOS CHAN10584.
  • 9.02 [0.02] Rob's Essential CD of the Week

    • Alexander Glazunov

      Albumblatt (Album leaf)

      Performers: Sergei Nakariakov (trumpet), Alexander Markovich (piano)

      • TELDEC 2564 67209-2.
  • 9.08 [0.08]

    • Joseph Haydn

      Symphony No. 96 in D major 'Miracle'

      Performers: Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Thomas Beecham (conductor)

      • EMI 909946-2.
  • 9.32 [0.32]

    • Sergei Mikhailovich Lyapunov

      Ronde des sylphes (Transcendental Etudes)

      Performer: Louis Kentner (piano)

      • CARLTON CLASSICS 30371 00362.
  • 9.40 [0.40]

    • Georg Philipp Telemann

      Quadro for recorder, violin, viola & basso continuo, TWV43:g4

      Performers: Musica Alta Ripa

      • MDG 309 1189-2.
  • 9.49 [0.49]

    • Ralph Vaughan Williams

      Overture to The Wasps - Aristophanic Suite

      Performers: London Philharmonic Orchestra, Sir Adrian Boult (conductor)

      • HMV 586 778-2.
  • 10.00 [1.00]

    • Robert Schumann

      Carnaval, Op. 9

      Performer: Geza Anda (piano)

      • HANNSLER CD 94.211.
  • 10.30 [1.30] Prof. Brian Foster's Choice

    • Johannes Brahms

      Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor: Finale - Rondo alla Zingarese, Presto

      Performers: Leopold String Trio, Marc-André Hamelin (piano)

      • HYPERION CDA67471/2.
  • 10.40 [1.40]

    • Johannes Brahms

      Intermezzo in E flat, Op. 117 No. 1

      Performers: Marc-André Hamelin (piano)

      • HYPERION CDA67471/2.
  • 10.45 [1.45]

    • Franz Liszt

      Aux Cyprès de la Villa d'Este

      Performers: Alfred Brendel (piano)

      • PHILIPS 420 837 2.
  • 10.55 [1.55]

    • Hans Christian Lumbye

      Columbine, polka-mazurka

      Performers: Tivoli Symphony Orchestra, Giordano Bellincampi (conductor)

      • NAXOS 8.556843.
  • 11am [2.00] Rob's Essential Choice

    • Ludwig van Beethoven

      Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 36

      Performers: Boston Symphony Orchestra, Erich Leinsdorf (conductor)

      • RCA VD60130.
  • 11.35 [2.35]

    • Part

      Alleluia-Tropus; Estonian Lullaby

      Performers: Vox Clamantis, Sinfonietta Riga; Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir, Tallin CO, Tonu Kaljuste (conductor)

      • ECM 476 4825.
  • 11.40 [2.40]

    • Krauss, J. M.

      Viola Concerto in C major, VB 153b

      Performers: David Aaron Carpenter (viola), Tapiola Sinfonietta

      • ONDINE ODE 1193-2.


Our Classical Century

Our Classical Century

Radio 3 explores 100 key musical moments that shaped us, from 1918 to the present day.

Time Travellers: the podcast

Time Travellers: the podcast

Eleanor Rosamund Barraclough presents quirky tales gathered from the corners of history.