Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 3

Music from the BBC Symphony Orchestra. Lutoslawski: Little Suite. Rodrigo: 4 Madrigales amatorios. Schumann: Symphony No 4. Plus Korngold: Piano Concerto for the left hand, Op 17.

Afternoon on 3 continues its focus on the BBC Symphony Orchestra with music by Schumann, Rodrigo and Lutoslawski. Plus this week's Romantic piano concerto theme is taken up by Marc-Andrew Hamelin performing Korngold's concerto for the left hand with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra.

Presented by Jonathan Swain.

Lutoslawski: Little Suite
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Edward Gardner (conductor)

Rodrigo: 4 Madrigales amatorios
Elizabeth Watts (soprano)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Jakub Hrusa (conductor)

Korngold: Piano Concerto for the left hand in C sharp major, Op. 17
Marc-Andre Hamelin (piano)
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Osmo Vanska (conductor)

Schumann: Symphony no. 4 in D minor
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Miguel Harth Bedoya (conductor).

1 hour, 30 minutes