Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 1

Music played in Romania by the BBC Symphony Orchestra. Enescu: Romanian Rhapsody No 1. Schubert: Symphony No 9. Janacek: Pohadka. Plus Sergio Tiempo in Liszt: Piano Concerto No 1.

This week's Afternoon on 3 features the BBC Symphony Orchestra, today in performances they gave in Bucharest in Romania on Friday and Saturday as part of the European Radio Orchestras Festival. Plus a series of Romantic piano concertos begins with Liszt's Piano Concerto no.1, for which the BBC Symphony Orchestra is joined by Sergio Tiempo.

Presented by Jonathan Swain.

Enescu: Romanian Rhapsody no.1
Bruch: Scottish Fantasy
Viviane Hagner (violin)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Jukka-Pekka Saraste (conductor)

Schubert: Symphony no. 9 in C major
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Jukka-Pekka Saraste (conductor)

Janacek: Pohadka
David Cohen (cello)
Sasha Grynyuk (piano)

Liszt Piano Concerto no.1 in E flat major
Sergio Tiempo (piano)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Andrew Grams (conductor)

Enescu: Romanian Rhapsody no.2
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Jukka-Pekka Saraste (conductor).

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Mon 1 Oct 2012 14:00

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Afternoon Concert