Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Maxwell Davies, Delius

Episode 1 of 2

A Prom in which Vasily Petrenko conducts the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. Peter Maxwell Davies: Symphony No 9. Delius: Violin Concerto (soloist: Tasmin Little).

Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London

Presented by Andrew McGregor

Vasily Petrenko conducts the Royal Liverpool Philarmonic Orchestra in contrasting symphonies by Peter Maxwell Davies and Shostakovich and Tasmin Little performs Delius's rhapsodic Violin Concerto

The concert opens with a work to celebrate Her Majesty's Diamond Jubilee, composed by the Master of the Queen's Music, Sir Peter Maxwell Davies. This is the London premiere of his Symphony no.9, a one movement work for orchestra and brass sextet. Vasily Petrenko and the RLPO premiered this work in Liverpool earlier this year in June. Violinist Tasmin Little is a passionate champion of Delius's music, and she joins the Orchestra in a performance of Delius' violin concerto, to mark the 150th anniversary of the composer's birth. The concert concludes with a performance of Shostakovich's Tenth Symphony; the RLPO under conductor Vasily Petrenko are known for their high-voltage performances of this dramatic repertoire.

Sir Peter Maxwell Davies: Symphony No. 9 (London premiere)
Delius: Violin Concerto

Tasmin Little (violin)
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko (conductor)

This Prom will be repeated on Tuesday 4th September at 2pm.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Thu 23 Aug 2012 19:30

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from BBC Proms

The home of classical music and the Proms on the BBC

The home of classical music and the Proms on the BBC

Every Proms concert is broadcast live on Radio 3 - don't miss a single one.