Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Wigmore Hall: Pavel Haas Quartet

Live from Wigmore Hall, the Pavel Haas Quartet perform Janacek's Second Quartet and Smetana's First Quartet.

Live from Wigmore Hall in London, the Pavel Haas Quartet perform two highly personal and autobiographical works by Czech composers: Janacek's Second Quartet (Intimate Letters) reflects on his passionate but one-sided relationship with a younger woman; and Smetana's First Quartet (From My Life) details the emotional trauma of encroaching deafness. Presented by Fiona Talkington.

Janacek: String Quartet No. 2 "Intimate Letters"
Smetana: String Quartet No. 1 in E minor "From My Life"

Pavel Haas Quartet.

1 hour

Music Played

  • Leos (1854-1928) Janacek

    String Quartet No 2 - 'Intimate Letters'