Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Leinsdorf, Markevitch

In the first of two programmes on the class of 1912, James Jolly explores the work of two star conductors who celebrate their centenaries this year: Erich Leinsdorf and Igor Markevitch. Including great recordings of music by Wagner, Prokofiev, Mozart and Brahms.

2 hours

Music Played

Adding a track to My Tracks will no longer be available from late March
  • Richard Wagner - Siegfried [Part 3 of 'Der Ring des Nibelungen'] - Act 2 sc.2; Forest murm

    Conductor: Erich LEINSDORF Performer: Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Erich Wolfgang Korngold

    Die Tote Stadt - opera in 3 acts Op.12 - Act 1; Gluck das mir verblieb (Marietta's [lute]

    Conductor: Erich LEINSDORF Performer: Carol NEBLETT - Soprano Performer: Munich Radio Orchestra

    • RCA GD87767.
  • Sergei Prokofiev

    Symphony no. 6 in E flat minor Op.111 - 1st movement; Allegro moderato

    Conductor: Erich LEINSDORF Performer: Boston Symphony Orchestra

    • TESTAMENT SBT-1395.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Cosi fan tutte, ossia La scuola degli amanti - opera buffa in 2 acts K.588 - Act 1, no.10;

    Conductor: Erich LEINSDORF Performer: Ezio FLAGELLO - Bass Performer: Leontyne PRICE - Soprano Performer: Tatiana TROYANOS - Contralto Performer: Philharmonia Orchestra

    • RCA GD86677.
  • Johannes Brahms

    Concerto no. 2 in B flat major Op.83 for piano and orchestra - 1st movement; Allegro non t

    Conductor: Erich LEINSDORF Performer: Chicago Symphony Orchestra Performer: Sviatoslav RICHTER - Piano

    • RCA Victor Red Seal 60860.
  • Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov

    May night [Mayskaya noch'] - opera in 3 acts - Overture

    Conductor: Igor MARKEVITCH Performer: Lamoureux Orchestra

    • Deutsche Grammophon 000507202.
  • Igor Markevitch

    Cantique d'amour for orchestra

    Conductor: Christopher Lyndon GEE Performer: Arnhem Philharmonic Orchestra

    • NAXOS 8572153.
  • Manuel de Falla

    Nights in the gardens of Spain for piano and orchestra - 1st movement: En el generalife; i

    Conductor: Igor MARKEVICH (1912 - 1983) Performer: Clara HASKIL - Piano Performer: Lamoureux Orchestra

    • PHILIPS 4164432.
  • Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Symphony no. 5 in E minor Op.64 - 4th movement; Finale (Andante maestoso - Allegro vivace)

    Conductor: Igor MARKEVITCH Performer: London Symphony Orchestra

    • PHILIPS 4260652.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Concerto no. 27 in B flat major K.595 for piano and orchestra - 3rd movement; Allegro

    Conductor: Gunter WAND Performer: Christian ZACHARIAS - Piano Performer: North German Radio Symphony Orchestra

    • EMI CDC7474322.