Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Music performed by the BBC Philharmonic. Chopin: Piano Concerto No 1 (soloist: Nobuyuki Tsujii). Dvorak: New World Symphony. Brahms: Piano Concerto No 2 (with Rudolf Buchbinder).

Katie Derham presents a week showcasing the BBC Philharmonic in concert at home and on tour. Today Japanese performers join the orchestra for Chopin at Bridgewater Hall in Manchester and Dvorak on tour in Kyoto. Plus Brahms performed in his own country of Germany.

Chopin: Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor
Nobuyuki Tsujii, piano
BBC Philharmonic
Yutaka Sado, conductor

Dvorak: Symphony No. 9 in E minor ('From the New World')
BBC Philharmonic
Yutaka Sado, conductor

Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2
Rudolf Buchbinder, piano
BBC Philharmonic
Gianandrea Noseda, conductor.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Frédéric Chopin

    Concerto no. 1 in E minor Op.11 for piano and orchestra

    Conductor: Yutaka SADO Performer: Nobuyuki TSUJII (13/09/1988) - Piano Performer: BBC Philharmonic

  • Frédéric Chopin

    2 Nocturnes Op.27 for piano

    Performer: Nobuyuki TSUJII (13/09/1988) - Piano

  • Antonín Dvořák

    Symphony no. 9 in E minor Op.95 (From the New World)

    Conductor: Yutaka SADO Performer: BBC Philharmonic