Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC SSO - Mozart, Bruckner

Donald Runnicles conducts the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in City Halls, Glasgow. Mozart: Clarinet Concerto (Martin Frost: basset clarinet). Bruckner, ed Haas: Symphony No 7.

Live from the Music Hall, Aberdeen

Mozart's Clarinet Concerto was one of the last pieces he completed before his death. Composed for the basset clarinet - lower pitched than the modern instrument - it has a very special colour, most obviously in the profoundly melancholic beauty of its slow movement. Here it's played by one of the world's leading clarinettists, Martin Fröst. Bruckner's Seventh Symphony is perhaps his most popular. In Donald Runnicles the BBC SSO is fortunate to have a Chief Conductor who understands better than most how to shape Bruckner's magnificent musical architecture, golden melodies and overwhelming climaxes.

Mozart Clarinet Concerto

8.00: Interval

Bruckner Symphony No.7 (ed. Haas)

Martin Fröst, basset clarinet
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Donald Runnicles, conductor.

2 hours, 30 minutes


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.