Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Khachaturian, Rachmaninov

Concert in which Kirill Karabits conducts the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra. Khachaturian: Gayaneh Suite. Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 2 (soloist: Nikolai Lugansky).

Presented by Catherine Bott

Live from the Lighthouse, Poole

Nikolai Lugansky joins the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra in Rachmaninov's Second Piano Concerto. Also on the programme: Khachaturian's Gayaneh Suite and Walton's First Symphony.

Gayaneh, set in a Soviet Armenian cotton co-operative, is full of Khatchaturian's typically exuberant, exotic colours that slip from rich to garish, and towering climaxes that tumble into the brutal and bombastic.

With his Second Piano Concerto, Rachmaninov not only overcame his writer's block, but he found a new voice as a composer - one with a perfect knack for unforgettable tunes, dazzling pianistic effects, an effortless flow of ideas, and a very suave sense of style. It quickly became Rachmaninov's greatest hit and one of the most popular concertos of the twentieth century.

In musical terms, Walton's First Symphony is a landmark of English. Its turbulent emotions and high-voltage energy were the fruit of tempestuous events surrounding Walton at the time. It consists of an eloquent, dramatic first movement, a stinging, malicious Scherzo and a thoroughly melancholic slow movement. The finale, though, is totally different in outlook, an almost Elgarian ceremonial jubilation, as if a cloud has lifted.

Khachaturian : Gayaneh Suite
Rachmaninov : Piano Concerto No.2


Walton : Symphony No.1

Nikolai Lugansky, piano
Kirill Karabits, conductor.

50 minutes

Last on

Wed 9 May 2012 19:30

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Radio 3 Live in Concert

Music Played

  • Bournemouth S O

    • Aram Khachaturian

      Gayane Suite (Dance of Friends, Carpet Embroidery Scene, Uzundra, Lezginka)

      Conductor: Kirill KARABITS Performer: Bournemouth S O

    • Sergey Rachmaninov

      Concerto no. 2 in C minor Op.18 for piano and orchestra

      Conductor: Kirill KARABITS Performer: Nikolai LUGANSKY - Piano Performer: Bournemouth S O

    • Sergey Rachmaninov

      Prelude in G sharp minor Op.32 No 12 for piano

      Performer: Nikolai LUGANSKY - Piano


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.