Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Schumann, Schoenberg, Gubaidulina, Beethoven

Recital given at the Frick Collection in New York. Schumann: Maria Stuart Lieder. Schoenberg: Six Little Pieces, Op 19. Gubaidulina: String Quartet No 3. Beethoven: Sonata, Op 30.

This week's Lunchtime Concerts are highlights from the annual Frick Collection chamber series in New York. Today's broadcast includes mezzo-soprano Renata Pokupic singing Schumann's Maria Stuart Lieder, Anthony Marwood playing Beethoven's Violin Sonata No.6, pianist Martin Helmchen with 6 Little Pieces by Arnold Schoenberg, and the Moscow String Quartet performing Sofia Gubaidulina's third quartet.

Schumann Maria Stuart Lieder, Op.135
Renata Pokupic (mezzo-soprano) / Roger Vignoles (piano)

Schoenberg 6 Little pieces for piano, Op.19
Martin Helmchen (piano)

Gubaidulina String quartet No.3
Moscow String Quartet

Beethoven Sonata for violin & piano No.6 in A, Op.30'1
Anthony Marwood (violin) / Alexander Madzar (piano)

The Frick Collection is one of the preeminent small art museums in the United States, with a very high-quality collection of old master paintings and fine furniture housed in 6 galleries within the formerly occupied residential mansion. The collection features some of the best-known paintings by major European artists, as well as numerous works of sculpture and porcelain. It also has 18th century French furniture, Limoges enamel, and Oriental rugs. The concert series has been running for more than 60 years.

58 minutes

Last on

Tue 8 May 2012 13:00