Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic - Brahms, Beethoven

Vasily Petrenko conducts the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic. Brahms: Piano Concerto No 1 in D minor, Op 15 (soloist: Andreas Haefliger). Beethoven: Symphony No 5 in C minor.

Live from Philharmonic Hall, Liverpool

Presented by Simon Hoban

The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic under their Chief Conductor Vasily Petrenko tackle the hammer blows of fate as their Essential Beethoven series reaches Beethoven's iconic 5th Symphony. And they are joined by pianist Andreas Haefliger for another hugely passionate work - Brahms' Piano Concerto no. 1.

Brahms: Piano Concerto no.1 in D minor op.15

8.15 Music Interval

Beethoven: Symphony no.5 in C minor op.67

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Andreas Haefliger (piano)
Vasily Petrenko (conductor).

2 hours, 30 minutes


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.