Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Kirill Karabits conducts the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra in excerpts from Tchaikovsky's music for the ballet The Sleeping Beauty.

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

Live from the Lighthouse, Poole

Cellist Truls Mørk & the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Kirill Karabits in Stravinsky, Prokofiev and Tchaikovsky.

Stravinsky's Fireworks is strongly influenced by his teacher, Rimsky-Korsakov, full of colourful, folk-flavoured nationalism. Compact, dazzlingly scored for huge orchestra and aptly explosive, it clearly forecasts such later scores as The Firebird and Petrushka.
Through the encouragement of Mstislav Rostropovich, Prokofiev reworked an earlier cello concerto into the Sinfonia Concertante. An undoubted masterpiece, it proved that Prokofiev still had something to say, in spite of those who would have silenced him.
Sleeping Beauty presents a tale of magical spells, a long-delayed romance and a royal wedding full of colourful characters. A soaring waltz, one of the most popular ever written, and the Rose Adagio are among the highlights of this extended suite.

Tchaikovsky : Sleeping Beauty (excerpts)

Truls Mørk, cello
Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra
Conductor : Kirill Karabits.

1 hour, 25 minutes

Last on

Wed 25 Apr 2012 20:35


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.