Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Sibelius, Dvarionas

Thomas Sondergard conducts the BBC Symphony Orchestra. Sibelius: En Saga, Op 9. Dvarionas: Violin Concerto (soloist: Vadim Gluzman).

Live from The Barbican Centre, London

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

The BBC Symphony Orchestra continues its Sibelius Cycle with Symphony No 2 & En Saga. Plus Lithuanian Balys Dvarionas's neo-Romantic Violin Concerto. Thomas Sondergard conducts.

As the BBC Symphony Orchestra reaches the fifth instalment of its acclaimed Sibelius symphony cycle this season, tonight's programme places one of the composer's most popular symphonies, the Second, alongside his shimmering symphonic poem En saga ('A Fairy Tale'). Replacing an indisposed Neeme Jarvi at short notice is Danish conductor Thomas Sondergard, who this autumn takes up a new position as Principal Conductor of the BBC National Orchestra of Wales.

Lithuanian Balys Dvarionas's richly neo-Romantic Violin Concerto - of which tonight's soloist Vadim Gluzman is a particular champion - reflects the lyricism and folklike charm of Sibelius - whose Second Symphony was promptly taken up, rightly or wrongly, as an expression of Finnish national pride.

Sibelius: En Saga Op.9

Dvarionas: Violin Concerto UK premiere

Vadim Gluzman (violin)

BBC Symphony Orchestra

Thomas Sondergard (conductor).

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 13 Apr 2012 19:30


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.