Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC SO and Chorus - Hugh Wood, Tippett

Andrew Davis conducts the BBC Symphony Orchestra and Chorus plus vocalists in Tippett's A Child of our Time. Anthony Marwood is the soloist in Hugh Wood's Violin Concerto No 2.

From the Barbican Centre, London

Presented by Penny Gore

Hugh Wood's second violin concerto, like all his music, speaks with unflashy, lyrical sincerity. The distinguished British violinist Anthony Marwood is the soloist. Michael Tippett's moving oratorio arose from the horrors of the Second World War, but its message that we must acknowledge our own dark qualities and not project them onto others is as urgent as ever. The BBC Symphony Orchestra and Chorus are conducted by their Conductor Laureate Sir Andrew Davis and joined by a stellar line-up of vocal talent.

Hugh Wood: Violin Concerto No 2

Michael Tippett: A Child of our Time

Anthony Marwood (violin)

Nicole Cabell (soprano)

Karen Cargill (mezzo-soprano)

John Mark Ainsley (tenor)

Matthew Rose (bass)

BBC Symphony Orchestra

BBC Symphony Chorus

Sir Andrew Davis (conductor).

2 hours