Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

The Spirit of Schubert

Live from Kings Place, London

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

Renowned Schubert interpreter Imogen Cooper performs some of the composer's most popular piano works in this recital live from Kings Place in London.

Cooper has described her love and fascination for Schubert as the most constant thread in her musical life having played his works in concert and on recordings throughout her career. She loves his ability to write "melodies that break your heart, or make you smile ... how can you resist spending years with him?". From the bittersweet opening line of the Allegretto in C minor through the melodies of the everpopular Impromptus and the sequence of minature Scottish style dances to one of his great, late Piano Sonatas, melody permeates this concert, but it's melody that Schubert uses to transport the listener to deeper and more spirtual places.

Allegretto in C minor D.915
Impromptus D.899

20:10 - 20:30 INTERVAL
As part of Radio 3's celebration of The Spirit of Schubert, Tom Service introduces The Schubert Lab - a regular daily feature throughout The Spirit of Schubert exploring the burning issues and questions about the composer's life and music. Including tonight's pianist Imogen Cooper and Schubert expert Brian Newbould.

11 Ecossaises D.781
Piano Sonata in D major D.850

Imogen Cooper (piano).

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Fri 23 Mar 2012 19:30

New Music on Radio 3

New Music at the Proms

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.