Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Prokofiev, Stravinsky

From the Barbican Hall, London, Kirill Karabits conducts the BBC Symphony Orchestra. Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 1 (soloist: Khatia Buniatishvili. Stravinsky: Petrushka.

Live from the Barbican Hall, London

Presented by Martin Handley

The BBC Symphony Orchestra's Sibelius cycle continues with Symphony No 4 under the Ukrainian conductor Kirill Karabits. They are joined by Georgian pianist Katia Buniatishvili for Prokofiev's virtuosic First Piano Concerto. Stravinsky's brightly coloured ballet Petrushka completes the programme.

Sibelius's stark, elemental Fourth Symphony was inspired in part by the landscape of Northern Karelia and composed at a time when the calm of the composer's life at his lakeside home Ainola was threatened by ill-health. Prokofiev described his Piano Concerto No 1 as his "first more or less mature composition" and the composer's own virtuoso performance at the keyboard at the premiere was sufficient to win him the coveted Rubinstein prize at the St Petersburg Conservatory. Stravinsky's puppet ballet, written to a commission from the great ballet impressario Sergei Diaghilev, tells of the life, death and afterlife of the Russian clown Petrushka in spectacular orchestral technicolour. The BBC Symphony Orchestra is conducted by the star Ukrainian conductor Kirill Karabits, making his debut with the orchestra.

Prokofiev: Piano concerto No 1 in D flat major
Stravinsky: Petrushka (1947 version)

Khatia Buniatishvili (piano)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Kirill Karabits (conductor).

1 hour, 10 minutes

Last on

Fri 24 Feb 2012 20:50

More episodes


You are at the last episode

See all episodes from Radio 3 Live in Concert


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.