Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Bournemouth SO - Mussorgsky, Rachmaninov, Tchaikovsky

Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra under Kirill Karabits with Stephen Hough (piano). Mussorgsky: Prelude (Khovanshchina). Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 1. Tchaikovsky: Symphony No 1.

Presented by Martin Handley

Live from the Colston Hall, Bristol

"Pyrotechnics delivered...with powerful force, balanced by poetic shaping...and a gossamer touch. Few get to the core of Rachmaninov's First Piano Concerto as Stephen Hough does" - The Guardian, January 2012.

Acclaimed British virtuoso Stephen Hough takes centre stage at Bristol's Colston Hall - accompanied by the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra conducted by Kirill Karabits - in Rachmaninov's first concerto, at turns fiery and soaringly lyrical. The ensemble also perform Tchaikovsky's debut symphony, "Winter Daydreams", written at the age of 26, and Mussorgsky's prelude to his unfinished opera "Khovanshchina".

Mussorgsky: Prelude to "Khovanshchina"
Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No 1

Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra
Stephen Hough, piano
Kirill Karabits, conductor

Interval: Music from Making Music's "Adopt a composer" scheme

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No 1:"Winter Daydreams"

Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra
Stephen Hough, piano
Kirill Karabits, conductor.

2 hours, 30 minutes


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.