Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Katie Derham presents the Nash Ensemble performing at LSO St Luke's in London. Strauss: Prelude (Capriccio). Brahms: String Sextet No 1 in B flat, Op 18.

The second of this week's concerts given by the Nash Ensemble at LSO St Luke's in London, each featuring a major chamber work by Brahms. Today they perform the Prelude for string sextet from Strauss's opera Capriccio, and Brahms's own String Sextet No. 1 in B flat.

Presented by Louise Fryer

Strauss: Prelude from Capriccio
Brahms: String Sextet No. 1 in B flat major, Op 18

Nash Ensemble:
Stephanie Gonley (violin)
Laura Samuel (violin)
Lawrence Power (viola)
Scott Dickinson (viola)
Paul Watkins (cello)
Tim Hugh (cello)

First broadcast in February 2012.

58 minutes

Music Played

  • Richard Strauss

    Prelude from 'Capriccio'

  • Johannes Brahms

    String Sextet in B flat major Op 18