Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

In a concert from the Southbank Centre in London, Christoph von Dohnanyi conducts the Philharmonia Orchestra in Beethoven's Symphony No 4.

Christoph von Dohnányi conducts the Philharmonia Orchestra in Beethoven's Symphony No 4 and Brahms' German Requiem.
Brahms first considered writing a Requiem Mass after the death of his close friend Robert Schumann, but it was only a decade later, after the death of his mother caused him inconsolable grief , that he began the project in earnest. The contemplation of mortality he produced is unlike any conventional Requiem Mass.
Ein deutsches Requiem sets sections of Luther's translation of the Bible, dwelling more on the hope of the resurrection than on the fear of Judgement Day. The first movement, 'Blessed are they that mourn', consoles those that remain on Earth. The work moves towards the dramatic highlight of the resurrection of the dead, yet ends back on an earthly level, a reminder that we cannot know what awaits us.

Beethoven: Symphony No.4

Susan Gritton soprano
Simon Keenlyside baritone
Philharmonia Chorus
Philharmonia Orchestra
Christoph von Dohnányi conductor.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Thu 16 Feb 2012 19:30

Music Played

  • Philharmonia

    • Ludwig van Beethoven

      Symphony no. 4 in B flat major Op.60

      Conductor: Christoph von DOHNANYI Performer: Philharmonia Orchestra


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.