Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Orchestre National de France - Schubert, Berg

From the Theatre des Champs-Elysees, Paris, Orchestre National de France under Daniele Gatti. Schubert: Symphony No 8; The Shepherd on the Rock. Berg: Symphonic Pieces from Lulu.

Live from the Theatre des Champs-Elysees, Paris

Tonight we join with Radio France in Paris as Daniele Gatti and the Orchestre National de France perform masterworks by Schubert and Berg.

Two works by Schubert open the concert - his sublime 'Unfinished' 8th Symphony is followed by Carl Reinecke's orchestration of his 'Shepherd on the Rock' a song of a lonely shepherd high in the mountains which swings from despair to hope and which is sung tonight by soprano Chen Reiss. She returns in the second half to perform the suite Berg made from his opera Lulu, a dark tale of seduction and murder with richly scored music.

Tonight's concert takes place in the Theatre des Champs-Elysees which has been the home to the ONF since 1944 and was famously the venue for the riotous first performance of Stravinsky's Rite of Spring. The orchestra itself is run by Radio France and tonight's conductor Daniele Gatti is the latest in a long line of distinguished Music Directors including Charles Munch, Sergiu Celibidache, Lorin Maazel, Charles Dutoit and Kurt Masur.

Schubert: Symphony no.8 in B minor D.759 'Unfinished'
Schubert arr.Reinecke: 'The Shepherd on the Rock' D.965

8.10 Interval - Martin Handley explores the illustrious history of the Orchestra National de France and its home.

Berg: Symphonic Pieces from 'Lulu'

Chen Reiss (soprano)
Patrick Messina (clarinet)
Orchestre National de France
Daniele Gatti (conductor).

3 hours

Music Played

  • Orchestre National de France part 1

    • Franz Schubert

      Symphony no. 8 in B minor D.759 (Unfinished)

      Conductor: Daniele GATTI Performer: French National Orchestra

    • Franz Schubert

      Der Hirt auf dem Felsen (D.965), arr. Reinecke for voice, cl & orchestra

      Conductor: Daniele GATTI Performer: Chen REISS - Soprano Performer: Patrick MESSINA - Clarinet Performer: French National Orchestra

  • Interval

    • Igor Stravinsky

      The Rite of Spring

      Conductor: Pierre MONTEUX Performer: French National Orchestra

      • Music & Arts.
      • CD-1182.
    • AlbĂ©ric Magnard

      Hymne a la justice Op.14

      Conductor: Manuel ROSENTHAL Performer: French National Orchestra

      • from the French National Radio archive.
    • Olivier Messiaen


      Conductor: Roger DESORMIERE Performer: French National Orchestra

      • INA Memoire Vive.
      • IMV078.
    • Pierre Boulez

      Le Soleil des eaux - cantata for soloists, STB chorus and orchestra vers. revised [1958]

      Conductor: Roger DESORMIERE Performer: Irene JOACHIM - Soprano Performer: French National Orchestra

      • INA Memoire Vive.
      • IMV041.
    • Albert Roussel

      Bacchus et Ariane - ballet Op.43

      Conductor: Jean MARTINON Performer: French National Orchestra

      • Erato.
      • 5050466610126.
  • Orchestre National de France part 2

    • Alban Berg

      Symphonic pieces from 'Lulu' (Lulu suite)

      Conductor: Daniele GATTI Performer: Chen REISS - Soprano Performer: French National Orchestra


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.