Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

In a concert from the Philharmonic Hall, Liverpool, Vasily Petrenko conducts the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra in Shostakovich's Symphony No 7 (Leningrad).

Live from Philharmonic Hall, Liverpool

Presented by Stuart Flinders

The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Vasily Petrenko performs music by Shostakovich and John Adams.

In the midst of the second World War, and the Nazis' 900-days Siege of Leningrad, Shostakovich composed his Seventh Symphony, a work which he dedicated to the city. The Leningrad premiere was broadcast through loudspeakers as an act of defiance against the Nazi troops. Stuart Flinders presents as the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra are conducted by Vasily Petrenko in this extraordinary Symphony together with the UK premiere of Enchantements OubliƩs by the Chinese-born composer Qigang Chen and John Adams' The Chairman Dances.

Shostakovich: Symphony No 7 'Leningrad'

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Vasily Petrenko, conductor.

1 hour, 30 minutes

Last on

Thu 19 Jan 2012 20:30


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.