Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC Philharmonic - Mozart, Debussy, Takemitsu, Sibelius

From Bridgewater Hall, the BBC Philharmonic conducted by Juanjo Mena. Mozart: Serenata Notturna. Debussy: Nocturnes. Takemitsu: Quotation of Dream. Sibelius: Nightride and Sunrise.

The BBC Philharmonic, with their Chief Conductor Juanjo Mena, perform works by Mozart, Debussy, Takemitsu and Sibelius, in a concert which opens The Bridgewater Hall's 'Reflections on Debussy' festival.

Presented by Petroc Trelawny.

Today sees the opening concert of a six month festival shared between The Bridgewater Hall and the BBC Philharmonic, concentrating on the music of Debussy, born 150 years ago.

The BBC Philharmonic and their Chief Conductor Juanjo Mena make Debussy's Nocturnes the centrepiece of a programme which explores music of the night. Also included is a serenade by Mozart, and Sibelius's noble 'Nightride and Sunrise'. The orchestra is joined by two pianists, Noriko Ogawa, Artistic Director of the festival, and her regular collaborator Kathryn Stott, for Takemitsu's 'Quotation of Dream'.

Mozart: Serenata Notturna
Debussy: Nocturnes
20:20 Interval: Noriko Ogawa in some of her favourite solo piano music by Debussy.
Takemitsu: Quotation of Dream
Sibelius: Nightride and Sunrise.

2 hours, 30 minutes


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.