Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

Penny Gore presents highlights from the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra's recent concerts, including their special focus on music from 1911. From a concert conducted by Lan Shui, Prokofiev's youthfully virtuosic 1911 First Piano Concerto is performed by Russian piano whizz Denis Kozhukhin - as part of his complete Prokofiev Concerto cycle with the BBC SSO. Plus Prokofiev's Classical Symphony - music which addresses the past and the future - and works by two further Russian composers who look to tradition and innovation: Tchaikovsky's grand drama of the underworld, Francesca da Rimini; and the sparking of modernism heard in the original, richly orchestrated 1911 scoring of Stravinsky's Petrushka.

There's also a chance this week to hear selections from a recent concert by the orchestra with violinist Anthony Marwood exploring the music of Schumann: today, the Concerto in D minor.

Prokofiev: Symphony no. 1 in D major (Classical)
Stravinsky: Petrushka (1911)
Prokofiev: Piano Concerto no. 1 in D flat major (1911)
Tchaikovsky: Francesca da Rimini

Denis Kozhukhin (piano),
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra,
Lan Shui (conductor).

Schumann: Violin Concerto in D minor
Anthony Marwood (violin),
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra,
Douglas Boyd (conductor).

Release date:

2 hours, 30 minutes

Last on

Mon 16 Jan 2012 14:00