Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

From the Barbican in London, Antonio Pappano conducts the London Symphony Orchestra. Ades: Dances (Powder Her Face). Walton: Viola Concerto (soloist: Anton Tamestit).

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

Live from the Barbican

The British-born Music Director of the Royal Opera House, Antonio Pappano, conducts an all British programme with the London Symphony Orchestra - music by Thomas Ades, Walton and Elgar.

The concert begins with 'Dances from Powder Her Face' - an 11-minute orchestral work derived from the opera that Ades wrote telling the colourful life-story of Margaret, Duchess of Argyll. Next comes the lyrical, bitter-sweet concerto that William Walton wrote for an instrument often overlooked as a soloist, the viola. The soloist is the French former Radio 3 New Generation Artist Antoine Tamestit. After the interval come Elgar's 1st Symphony - described at its first rehearsals back in 1908 by conductor Hans Richter as 'the greatest symphony of modern times, written by the greatest modern composer - and not only in this country.' Elgar himself said of it 'there is no programme beyond a wide experience of human life with a great charity (love) and a massive hope in the future.' - a hope that continues to shine through the music over 100 years later. The concert is introduced by Petroc Trelawny.

Ades: Dances from Powder Her Face
Walton: Viola Concerto

London Symphony Orchestra
Antonio Pappano (conductor)
Antoine Tamestit (viola).

40 minutes

Last on

Tue 10 Jan 2012 19:30

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Radio 3 Live in Concert

Music Played

  • London Symphony Orchestra part 1

    • Thomas Ad├Ęs

      Powder her face - suite for orchestra

      Conductor: Antonio PAPPANO Performer: London Symphony Orchestra

    • William Walton

      Concerto for viola and orchestra

      Conductor: Antonio PAPPANO Performer: Antoine TAMESTIT - Viola Performer: London Symphony Orchestra

  • London Symphony Orchestra part 2

    • Edward Elgar

      Symphony no. 1 in A flat major Op.55

      Conductor: Antonio PAPPANO Performer: London Symphony Orchestra


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.