Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Including Handel: Music for the Royal Fireworks. Mozart: Piano Concerto No 20. Mozart: Symphony No 9. Frescobaldi: Credo. Zemlinsky: Lyric Symphony. Handel: Dixit Dominus.

Great Music Festivals of 2011.
Louise Fryer this week presents highlights from some of 2011's top continental festivals, including today the Schwetzingen and Utrecht Festivals and the Salzburg Mozart Week.

Handel Music for the Royal Fireworks
SWR Radio Symphony Orchestra, Stuttgart
Nicholas McGegan (conductor)

approx 2.20pm
Mozart Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K. 466
Piotr Anderszewski (piano)
Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Yannick Nézet-Séguin (conductor)

approx 2.50pm
Mozart Symphony No. 39 in E flat, K. 543
Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Yannick Nézet-Séguin (conductor)

approx 3.20pm
Girolamo Frescobaldi (1583-1643)
Credo from Missa a 8 sopra l'aria della Monica
Concerto Palatino

approx 3.35m
Zemlinsky Lyric Symphony, op. 18
Christine Schäfer (soprano), Michael Volle (baritone)
Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, Franz Welser-Möst (conductor)

approx 4.25
Handel - Dixit Dominus, HWV 232
Christina Landshamer (soprano I), Anna Prohaska (soprano II), Elisabeth von Magnus (contralto), Jeremy Ovenden (tenor), Christian Immler (bass)
Arnold Schoenberg Chorus, Concentus Musicus Wien, Ivor Bolton (conductor).

3 hours

Last on

Fri 23 Dec 2011 14:00

More episodes


You are at the last episode

See all episodes from Afternoon Concert

Music Played

  • George Frideric Handel

    Music for the royal fireworks

    Conductor: Nicholas MCGEGAN Performer: Stuttgart R S O

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Concerto no. 20 in D minor K.466 for piano and orchestra

    Conductor: Yannick NEZET-SEGUIN Performer: Piotr ANDERSZEWSKI - Piano Performer: Chamber Orchestra Of Europe

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Symphony no. 39 in E flat major K.543

    Conductor: Yannick NEZET-SEGUIN Performer: Chamber Orchestra Of Europe

  • Girolamo Frescobaldi

    Messa sopra l'aria della Monica for 8 voices and continuo

    Performer: Concerto Palatino

  • Alexander von Zemlinsky

    Lyric symphony Op.18 for soprano, baritone and orchestra

    Conductor: Franz WELSER-MOST Performer: Christine SCHAFER - Soprano Performer: Michael VOLLE - Baritone Performer: Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra

  • George Frideric Handel

    Dixit Dominus - Psalm 110 HWV.232

    Performer: Anna PROHASKA - Soprano Performer: Christian IMMLER - Counter-tenor Performer: Christina LANDSHAMER - Soprano Performer: Elisabeth von MAGNUS - Contralto Performer: Ivor BOLTON - Director Performer: Jeremy OVENDEN - Tenor Performer: Arnold Schoenberg Choir Performer: Concentus Musicus Vienna