Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

From the Sage Gateshead, the Northern Sinfonia's concert under Thierry Fischer concludes with a performance of Beethoven's Symphony No 4 in B flat.

Live from the Sage, Gateshead

Presented by Catherine Bott

The Northern Sinfonia and conductor Thierry Fischer perform a programme of music from the 20th Century inspired by jazz set alongside on Beethoven's mighty symphonies.

Ravel first heard jazz on a tour of the USA in the early 1920s and his Piano Concerto was written under its intoxicating spell "Jazz is a very rich and vital source of inspiration for modern composers" he said and the concerto fizzes with syncopations and 'blue notes'. Jazz also makes an appearance in the suite from Stravinsky's Soldier's Tale, along with folk, tango and Lutheran Chorales as the story of the soldier being tricked by the devil unfolds. Beethoven's 4th Symphony completes the programme.

Beethoven - Symphony no.4 in B flat

Imogen Cooper (piano)
Northern Sinfonia
Thierry Fischer (conductor).

1 hour, 10 minutes

Last on

Thu 15 Dec 2011 20:50


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.