Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 4

BBC SSO under Martyn Brabbins in a concert from City Halls, Glasgow. Debussy, orch Matthews: Piano Preludes. Vaughan Williams: Suite for viola and orchestra. Borodin: Symphony No 2.

Penny Gore continues this week's celebration of the BBC's performing groups in concert across the nation, featuring music by Tchaikovsky every day.

Today Jamie MacDougall presents the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra LIVE concert at their home, City Halls in Glasgow.

With conductor Martyn Brabbins the orchestra explore the art of the arranger, in a selection of Colin Matthews' deft orchestrations of Debussy's Piano Preludes. Alongside these French works, re-imagined by an Englishman, we hear the music of an Englishman examining his own country's folk idioms, in Vaughan Williams' Suite for Viola and Orchestra, performed by that instrument's leading virtuoso, Lawrence Power.

Borodin's rousing Second Symphony, steeped in Russian heritage and infused with the lyricism and drama of the opera house, brings the orchestra to the fore to round off the concert.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Claude Debussy

    Preludes - Ce qu'a vu le Vent d'Ouest; La fille aux cheveux de lin; Les sons et les parfum

    Conductor: Martyn Brabbins Performer: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

  • Ralph Vaughan Williams

    Suite for viola and orchestra

    Conductor: Martyn Brabbins Performer: Laurence Power (viola) Performer: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

  • Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Rococo Variations

    Performer: Pieter Wispelwey BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra Ilan Volkov (conductor)

  • Claude Debussy

    Preludes - Feux d'artifice; Des pas sur la neige; La cathedrale engloutie 08'

    Conductor: Martyn Brabbins Performer: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

  • Alexander Borodin

    Symphony no. 2 in B minor

    Conductor: Martyn Brabbins Performer: BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

  • Gustav Mahler

    Lieder eines Jahrenden gesellen

    Performer: Southbank Sinfonia Conductor: Johannes wildner