Sorry, this episode is not currently available on BBC iPlayer Radio

LSO St Luke's Beethoven Piano Sonata Series.

Over the next three weeks the Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert will feature a complete cycle of the 32 Beethoven Piano Sonatas featuring six performers who between them span three generations. To begin the journey, Irish pianist Barry Douglas plays two sonatas including the famous 'Waldstein'.

Beethoven: Sonata no. 11 in B flat major Op.22 for piano
Beethoven: Sonata no. 21 in C major Op.53 (Waldstein) for piano

Barry Douglas (piano)

First broadcast in December 2011.

Release date:

58 minutes

Last on

Tue 14 Aug 2012 13:00