Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Concert in which Vladimir Jurowski conducts the London Philharmonic Orchestra Matthias Pintscher: Towards Osiris. Beethoven: Piano Concerto No 5 (Emperor) (soloist - Lars Vogt).

Live from the Royal Festival Hall.

Presented by Martin Handley.

Vladimir Jurowski conducts the LPO in Bruckner's Symphony No 1 and a recent work by Matthias Pintscher. Pianist Lars Vogt joins them in Beethoven's "Emperor" Concerto.

'Das kecke Beserl' Anton Bruckner called his First Symphony - 'the saucy little maid'; it is a work of impish charm and bold impetuosity.
Before Beethoven's epic Emperor Concerto comes a veritable sculpture in sound by Matthias Pintscher, one of the most individual and ear-enchanting composers currently at work. He describes his multi-hued, intimate yet broad music as suggesting 'an imaginary theatre'; his powerful towards Osiris raises the curtain on this concert.

Matthias Pintscher: towards Osiris.
Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 5 (Emperor).

Lars Vogt (piano),
London Philharmonic Orchestra,
Vladimir Jurowski (conductor).

50 minutes

Last on

Wed 30 Nov 2011 19:30

Music Played

  • London Philharmonic Part 1

    • Matthias Pintscher

      Towards Osiris for orchestra

      Conductor: Vladimir JUROWSKI Performer: London Philharmonic Orchestra

    • Ludwig van Beethoven

      Concerto no. 5 in E flat major Op.73 (Emperor) for piano and orchestra

      Conductor: Vladimir JUROWSKI Performer: Lars VOGT - Piano Performer: London Philharmonic Orchestra

  • London Philharmonic Part 2

    • Anton Bruckner

      Symphony no. 1 in C minor vers. 'Linz' [1865-6]

      Conductor: Vladimir JUROWSKI Performer: London Philharmonic Orchestra


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.