Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

LSO ST LUKES - Pavel Haas series (rpt)

Penny Gore presents a recital given by the Pavel Haas Quartet at LSO St Luke's in London. Beethoven: Trio in C minor, Op 9; Quartet in F, Op 59 No 1 (Razumovsky).

The Pavel Haas Quartet are named after a young Czech composer who was interned by the Nazis in the the infamous "Theresienstadt" concentration camp. The Pavel Haas Quartet took part in the BBC's New Generation Artist Scheme and are now based in Prague, from where they are much in demand worldwide, and they have built a reputation for the highest level of quartet playing.

In November 2010 the quartet played four concerts at LSO St. Luke's in London, and this concert features two works by Beethoven. His C minor Trio and the first of the Op.59 set dedicated to Count Razumovsky, the Russian Ambassador in the Viennese Court in 1806 - a wealthy patron who commissioned these three quartets from Beethoven.

The quartet members are: violinists Veronika Jaruskova and Eva Karova, viola player Pavel Nikl and cellist Krzystof Jarusek

The performances are presented by Katie Derham.

Beethoven: Trio in C minor, Op.9; Quartet in F major, Op.59 No.1 "Razumovsky".

1 hour

Music Played

  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Trio in C minor Op.9`3 for strings

    Performer: Pavel Haas Quartet

  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Quartet in F major Op.59`1 (Rasumovsky) for strings

    Performer: Pavel Haas Quartet