Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

From the Barbican, London, the BBC Symphony Orchestra under Jiri Belohlavek in the second half of the opening concert of their new season. Bruckner: Symphony No 4 in E flat.

Live from The Barbican, London

Presented by Petroc Trelawny

Celebrated Norwegian pianist Leif Ove Andsnes joins the BBC Symphony Orchestra and Chief Conductor Jiri Belohlavek for the opening concert of their new season. The programme features two romantic masterpieces, starting with Rachmaninov's lyrical and virtuosic Third Piano Concerto. Bruckner's Fourth Symphony - dubbed "The Romantic" by the composer himself - completes the programme.

Leif Ove Andsnes has built his reputation on the great romantic piano concertos of Grieg, Schumann and Rachmaninov. Whilst the Third Concerto may have lain in the shadow of its more famous sibling, the Second, its wonderful tunes and showstopping bravura make it a perfect curtain-raiser for the BBC Symphony Orchestra's season opening. The Czech conductor Jiri Belohlavek leads the orchestra in Bruckner's Fourth Symphony, conjuring up horn-drenched romantic scenes of medieval castles, hare-hunting and a folk-festival.

Bruckner: Symphony No 4 in E flat major

Leif Ove Andsnes (piano)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Jiri Belohlavek (conductor).

1 hour, 25 minutes

Last on

Wed 12 Oct 2011 20:35

Music Played

  • BBC SO

    • Anton Bruckner

      Symphony no. 4 in E flat major (Romantic)

      Conductor: Jiri BELOHLAVEK Performer: BBC S O.


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.