Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Berlioz, Mendelssohn

A concert in which Kirill Karabits conducts the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra. Berlioz: Overture (Benvenuto Cellini). Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto (soloist - Renaud Capucon).

Live from The Lighthouse, Poole

Presented by Catherine Bott

For our first visit of the season to the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra's home hall, Principal Conductor, Kirill Karabits conducts a programme that begins with an operatic overture by Berlioz and ends with Prokofiev's wartime symphonic masterpiece. Between them comes one of the most popular of all violin concertos in which orchestra and conductor are joined by the renowned French violinist Renaud Capuçon.

The popularity of the overture that Berlioz wrote for Benvenuto Cellini has outlasted that of the opera from which it is taken by a long way - it's one of his most characteristic scores, full of long lyrical melody and colourful orchestration. Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto is much loved, with its fiery opening and sparkling finale separated by the songful slow movement. Prokofiev's 5th Symphony, written during the 2nd World War, managed to make some subtle musical points whilst keeping the Soviet authorities happy - a masterful balancing act that produced one of the 20th-century's most powerful symphonies. Ukrainian-born Kirill Karabits has proved himself to be a fine conductor of colourful scores like these and his partnership with the outstanding French violinist Renaud Capuçon is bound to be an exciting one.

Berlioz: Overture - Benvenuto Cellini
Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E Minor

Renaud Capuçon (violin)
Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra
Kirill Karabits (conductor).

40 minutes

Last on

Wed 5 Oct 2011 19:30

More episodes


You are at the first episode

See all episodes from Radio 3 Live in Concert

Music Played

  • Bournemouth S O

    • Hector Berlioz

      Benvenuto Cellini (Overture)

      Conductor: Kirill KARABITS Performer: Bournemouth S O

    • Felix Mendelssohn

      Concerto in E minor Op 64 for violin and orchestra

      Conductor: Kirill KARABITS Performer: Renaud CAPUCON - Violin Performer: Bournemouth S O

    • Sergei Prokofiev

      Symphony No 5 in B flat major Op 100

      Conductor: Kirill KARABITS Performer: Bournemouth S O


New Music on Radio 3

New Music on Radio 3

A chance to listen to recent broadcasts of new music - including premieres - on Radio 3.