Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Tuesday - Sara Mohr-Pietsch

Sara Mohr-Pietsch presents Radio 3's classical breakfast show. Including Arne's overture to Artaxerxes, Dvorak's Serenade in E, and the latest Specialist Classical Chart.

Sara Mohr-Pietsch presents Radio 3's classical Breakfast show, including Arne's overture to Artaxerxes performed by the Classical Opera Company conducted by Ian Page, the Saito Kinen Orchestra conducted by Seiji Ozawa perform the Finale from Dvorak's Serenade in E major for string orchestra, Tchaikovsky's Marche Slave is played by the Russian National Orchestra under the baton of Mikhail Pletnev, and Sara plays her selection of tracks from this week's Specialist Classical Chart.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Franz Schubert

    From 6 Moments musicaux for piano (D.780), no.5 in F minor

    Performer: Imogen Cooper [piano]

    • Ottavo OTRC128715.
  • Christoph Willibald Gluck

    Dance of the blessed spirits from Orfeo ed Euridice

    Performer: Academy of St Martin in the Fields Performer: Sir Neville Marriner (conductor)

    • EMI 3 89032 2.
  • Thomas Arne

    Overture to Artaxerxes

    Performer: Classical Opera Company Performer: Ian Page [conductor]

    • Linn CKD 358.
  • Gian Carlo Menotti

    Mother's aria from The Consul

    Performer: Angelika Kirchschlager [mezzo] Performer: London Metropolitan Ensemble

    • Sony SK 61768.
  • Antonín Dvořák

    Finale from Serenade in E major for string orchestra Op 22

    Performer: Saito Kinen Orchestra Performer: Seiji Ozawa (conductor)

    • Philips 462 594-2.
  • Moritz Moszkowski

    Etude in F Op 72 No 6

    Performer: James Rhodes [piano]

    • Warner 5052498358328.
  • John Rutter

    Gloria – 1st mvt: Allegro vivace

    Performer: Polyphony Performer: The City of London Sinfonia Performer: The Wallace Collection Performer: Stephen Layton [conductor]

    • Hyperion CDA 67259.
  • Tomaso Giovanni Albinoni

    Concerto a 5 in D minor Op.9`2 for oboe and strings

    Performer: Albrecht Mayer [oboe / director] Performer: New Seasons Ensemble

    • Decca 478 0313.
  • Gioachino Rossini

    La Gazza ladra [The thieving magpie]

    Performer: Orchestra Filharmonica Della Scala Performer: Riccardo Chailly (conductor)

    • Decca 448 218-2.
  • Frédéric Chopin

    Waltz in E minor KKIVa/15

    Performer: Stephen Hough [piano]

    • Hyperion CDA 67849.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Violin Concerto no 1 in B flat major K 207: Final mvt - Presto

    Performer: Viktoria Mullova [violin/director] Performer: Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

    • Philips 470 292-2.
  • Paul McCartney


    Performer: Loma Mar Quartet

    • EMI 5 56891 2 6.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Sanctus from Mass in B minor BWV 232

    Performer: Yorkshire Bach Choir Performer: Yorkshire Baroque Soloists Performer: Peter Seymour [director]

    • Signum SIGCD 265.
  • Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Marche slave Op 31

    Performer: Russian National Orchestra Performer: Mikhail Pletnev (conductor)

    • Virgin Classic VC7914872.
  • Franz Schubert

    Seligkeit D433

    Performer: Elly Ameling [soprano]

    • Pentatone Classics 5186 132.
  • Specialist Classical Chart

    • Thomas Weelkes

      Hosanna to the Son of David

      Performer: Choir of Christ Church Cathedral, Oxford Performer: Stephen Darlington (director)

      • AVIE AV2215.
    • Max Bruch

      Violin Concerto no.1 in G minor: Finale

      Performer: Charlie Siem (violin) Performer: London Symphony Orchestra Performer: Andrew Gourlay (conductor)

      • WARNER CLASSICS 2564 66661-2.
    • Franz Liszt

      Piano Concerto No.2: Finale

      Performer: Kristian Zimerman (piano) Performer: Boston Symphony Orchestra Performer: Seiji Ozawa (conductor)

      • DG 00289 477 9697.
    • Franz Liszt

      Les Jeux d'eau a la Villa d'Este

      Performer: Pierre-Laurent Aimard (piano)

      • DG 00289 477 9439.
    • Franz Liszt

      Piano Concerto No. 1: Finale

      Performer: Lang Lang (piano) Performer: Vienna Philharmonic Performer: Valery Gergiev (conductor)

      • SONY CLASSICAL 88697891402.
  • Carl Maria von Weber

    Abu Hassan – Overture

    Performer: London Symphony Orchestra Performer: Charles Mackerras (conductor)

    • Mercury 434 352-2.
  • Carl Orff

    In taberna quando sumus from Carmina burana

    Performer: London Symphony Orchestra and Chorus Performer: Andre Previn (conductor)

    • EMI 6 31802 2.
  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    Piano Concerto No 2 in F major Op 102: 2nd movement; Andante

    Performer: Leonard Bernstein [piano / conductor] Performer: New York Philharmonic

    • Sony SM3K 47166.
  • Berio / Purcell

    The modification and instrumentation of a famous hornpipe as a merry and altogether since

    Performer: Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano Giuseppe Verdi Performer: Riccardo Chailly

    • Decca 476 2830.
  • Johann Christoph Bach

    Es ist nun aus mit meinem Leben

    Performer: English Baroque Soloists Performer: John Eliot Gardiner (conductor)

    • SDG 715.


Five simple steps for morning mindfulness

Five simple steps for morning mindfulness

How listening to R3 Breakfast can reduce stress, aid mindfulness and cure morning breath.

Chilled – five great Russian winter pieces you’ve mostly never heard of …

Chilled –  five great Russian winter pieces you’ve mostly never heard of …

The BBC's Steve Rosenberg (a handy pianist) chips the ice off favourite classical scores.

Get singing: The Pankhurst Anthem

Get singing: The Pankhurst Anthem

We're inviting singers to mark 100 years of UK women's suffrage with a new choral work.

Sounds of the Earth

Sounds of the Earth

In this Weekend Breakfast feature, we hear the natural world in its many guises.