Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

With Rob Cowan

In a new, extended Sunday Morning programme for Radio 3, Rob Cowan plays three hours of great music, featuring the best recordings from the archive and the present day.

3 hours

Last on

Sun 25 Sep 2011 09:00

Music Played

  • Carl Maria von Weber

    Clarinet Quintet (orchestral version) – ii Menuetto (Capriccio e presto)

    Performers: Sabine Meyer (clarinet), Württemberg Chamber Orchestra, Jörg Faerber (conductor)

    • EMI 5 67988 2 T12.
  • Tomás Luis de Victoria

    Vadam et circuibo civitatem – Motet a 6

    Performers: Ensemble Plus Ultra, Michael Noone (conductor)

    • DG Archiv 477 9747 CD 10 t6.
  • Gerald Finzi

    Romance for String Orchestra, Op. 11

    Performers: Rodney Friend (solo violin), London Philharmonic Orchestra , Adrian Boult (conductor)

    • Lyrita SRCD 239 t6.
  • Elena Kats‐Chernin

    Sunday Rag

    Performers: Sarah Nicholls (piano)

    • SIGCD058 t14.
  • Gustav Mahler

    Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen, "Ging heut Morgen übers Feld"

    Performers: Hermann Prey (baritone), Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra, Kurt Sanderling (conductor)

    • Berlin Classics 0184152BC CD2 T2.
  • Gabriel Fauré

    Nocturne No. 1 in E flat

    Performers: Jean Doyen (piano)

    • Erato 4509 962202 CD1 T1.
  • Hector Berlioz

    Damnation of Faust Suite

    Performers: Cleveland Orchestra, George Szell (conductor)

    • TCO GS97 B CD4 T7-9.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach arr William Malloch

    The Art of Fuguing, Allegro molto

    Performers: Sheffield Ensemble, Lukas Foss (conductor)

    • SLS 502 T8.
  • Giuseppe Verdi

    La Traviata, "Ah for' sè lui"

    Performers: Maria Callas (soprano), Orquestra Sinfonica del Teatro Nacional de Santa Carlos Lisboa, Franco Ghione (conductor)

    • EMI 0843562 CD1 T6.
  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Piano Sonata No. 22 in F major, Op. 54

    Performers: Sviatoslav Richter (piano)

    • BMG 82876 59421 2 T4-5.
  • Jean Sibelius

    Symphony No 7 in C major, Op 105

    Performers: Berlin Symphony Orchestra, Kurt Sanderling (conductor)

    • Edel Classics 0002342CCC CD16 T5.
  • Oscar Asche and Frederic Norton

    The Cobbler's Song from Chu Chin Chow

    Performers: Peter Dawson (baritone), uncredited orchestra

    • CDH 7631072 T13.
  • Dieterich Buxtehude

    Praeludium in G minor BUX.149

    Performers: Marie-Claire Alain (organ)

    • Erato 0630 12979-2 CD 1, t1.
  • Clément Doucet


    Performers: Clément Doucet (piano)

    • EMI 5864802 CD1 T10.
  • Einar Aaron Swan

    When Your Lover Has Gone

    Performers: Ben Webster (tenor saxophone), Oscar Peterson (piano), Ray Brown (bass), Ed Thigpen (drums)

    • Verve 521 448-2 t2.
  • Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

    Flute Concerto in A H438

    Performers: Konrad Hünteler (flute), Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra, Ton Koopman (director)

    • Erato 0630-16183-2 t4-6.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Laudate Dominum

    Performers: Maria Stader (soprano), RIAS Chamber Choir, Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra, Gustav König (conductor)

    • DG 477 5811 CD2 T10.
  • Leos Janáček

    The Barn Own has not Flown Away (Overgrown Path: 1)

    Performers: András Schiff (piano)

    • ECM1736 t16.
  • Robert Schumann

    Dichterliebe, Die alten, bösen Lieder

    Performers: Ian Partridge (tenor), Jennifer Partridge (piano)

    • CfP 5 86181 2 CD2 t16.
  • Gustave Mahler arr Uri Caine

    Symphony No 1, 3rd Movement

    Performers: Uri Caine Ensemble

    • Winter & Winter 910 004 2 T5.


Folk on Sunday Morning – Sarah Walker introduces five outstanding tracks

Folk on Sunday Morning – Sarah Walker introduces five outstanding tracks

In Folk, Sarah Walker finds distinctive voices and a bridge twixt tradition and modernity

Ten reasons to love nostalgic music

Ten reasons to love nostalgic music

Sarah Walker introduces her light music choices – a weekly treat on Sunday Morning.

Ten Steps in to Jazz

Ten Steps in to Jazz

Sarah Walker invites you on the personal jazz journey she shares in Sunday Morning on R3.