Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Tuesday - Sarah Walker

With Sarah Walker. Purcell: The Fairy Queen. Boyce: Symphony No 3. Ravel: Ma mere l'oye (excerpt). Debussy: String Quartet. Falla: Nights in the Gardens of Spain.

Ahead of Sir John Eliot Gardiner's appearance at the BBC Proms this Friday (9th), Sarah Walker turns the spotlight on this world-famous conductor's extensive recording career. At the Proms, Gardiner conducts Weber's Der Freischutz in a performance by the Orchestre Revolutionnaire et Romantique, an orchestra which he founded himself. He is best known, however, for his interpretations of early music and today Sarah plays excerpts from his recordings of Purcell's The Fairy Queen and from a little later, Mozart's Die Zauberflote.

2 hours

Music Played

  • Henry Purcell

    The Fairy Queen - Symphony

    Performers: The English Baroque Soloists, Sir John Eliot Gardiner (conductor)

    • ARCHIV 47767336.
  • William Boyce

    Symphony No.3 in C

    Performers: The English Concert, Trevor Pinnock (conductor)

    • ARCHIV 4196312.
  • Maurice Ravel

    Ma Mere l'oye (piano version) Nos.3 and 5 - Laideronnette and Le jardin feerique

    Performers: Katia and Marielle Labaque (pianos)

    • PHILIPS 4201592.
  • Claude Debussy

    String Quartet

    Performers: Quartetto Italiano

    • PHILIPS 4646992.
  • Manuel de Falla

    Nights in the Gardens of Spain

    Performers: Margaret Fingerhut (piano), London Symphony Orchestra, Geoffrey Simon (conductor)

    • CHANDOS CHAN 8457.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Die Zauberflote - Die Holle Rache

    Performers: Cyndia Sieden (soprano), The English Baroque Soloists, John Eliot Gardiner (conductor)

    • ARCHIV 4499382.
  • Walter Braunfels

    Die Vogel - Vorspiel und Prolog

    Performers: Nightingale: Hellen Kwon (soprano), Deutsches Sinfonie-Orchester, Lothar Zagrosek (conductor)

    • DECCA 4486792.
  • Frédéric Chopin

    Barcarolle in F sharp minor Oop.60

    Performers: Stephen Hough (piano)

    • HYPERION CDA67764.
  • Igor Stravinsky

    Firebird - Suite (1919)

    Performers: Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Paavo Jarvi (conductor)

    • TELARC 80587.
  • Frédéric Chopin

    Mazurka in C sharp minor Op.63 No.3

    Performers: Stephen Hough (piano)

    • HYPERION CDA67764.